American Economic Association Announces Award Recipients for 2016
Yicai Global
/SOURCE : Yicai
American Economic Association Announces Award Recipients for 2016

(CBN Global) April 30 - The American Economic Association (AEA) announces recipients of the John Bates Clark Medal, Distinguished Fellows, Foreign Honorary Members, and the 'Best Paper Prizes' of the American Economic Journals. These outstanding achievements will be honored at the AEA Annual Meeting, January 6-8, 2017, in Chicago, Illinois.

Awarded annually to an economist under the age of 40, the John Bates Clark Medal recognizes outstanding research accomplishments in economics. The AEA Electoral College, consisting of the Association's Honors and Awards Committee and voting members of the Executive Committee, selects the winner. A list of Clark Medal recipients is available at

The Distinguished Fellow awards recognize the lifetime research contributions of four distinguished economists. Since 1965, past presidents of the AEA are recognized as Distinguished Fellows, and up to four additional individuals may be elected for the award in one calendar year. Distinguished Fellows are selected by the AEA Nominating Committee and voting members of the Executive Committee, sitting together as an electoral college. A list of current and past Distinguished Fellows is available at

The Foreign Honorary Members award is presented to foreign economists of distinction. Honorees are elected by the American Economic Association's Executive Committee. A list of current Foreign Honorary Members is available at

The annual American Economic Journal (AEJ) 'Best Paper Prize' highlights the best paper published in each of the American Economic Journals: Applied Economics, Economic Policy, Macroeconomics, and Microeconomics over the last three years. Nominations are provided by AEA members, and winners are selected by the journals' editors, co-editors, and boards of editors.

A list of the award winners is provided below. For more information about these awards, the recipients, and biographies of the John Bates Clark Medalist and Distinguished Fellows, visit

The American Economic Association Awards Results

John Bates Clark Medalist

Yuliy Sannikov, Princeton University


Distinguished Fellows

Richard B. Freeman, Harvard University

Glenn Loury, Brown University

Julio J. Rotemberg, Harvard University

Isabel V. Sawhill, The Brookings Institution


Foreign Honorary Members

Torsten Persson, Sweden

Guido Tabellini, Italy


American Economic Journal (AEJ) 'Best Paper Prize'

Complimentary full-text articles are available at the web addresses referenced below.

AEJ: Applied Economics: "Legal Status and the Criminal Activity of Immigrants," by Giovanni Mastrobuoni, Paolo Pinotti 7(2), (pp. 175-206) April 2015

AEJ: Economic Policy: "Death by Market Power: Reform, Competition, and Patient Outcomes in the National Health Service," by Martin Gaynor, Rodrigo Moreno-Serra, and Carol Propper 5 (4), (pp. 134-66) November, 2013

AEJ: Macroeconomics: "Monetary Policy Surprises, Credit Costs, and Economic Activity," by Mark Gertler, Peter Karadi 7(1), (pp. 44-76) January 2015

AEJ: Microeconomics: "Nonlinear Pricing of Storable Goods," by Igal Hendel, Alessandro Lizzeri, and Nikita Roketskiy 6(3), (pp. 1-34) August 2014


About the American Economic Association

The American Economic Association (AEA) encourages economic research, issues publications on economic subjects, and encourages perfect freedom of economic discussion. With more than 20,000 members, the Association publishes the American Economic Review (AER), Journal of Economic Literature (JEL), Journal of Economic Perspectives (JEP), and American Economic Journals (AEJ): Applied Economics, Economic Policy, Macroeconomics, and Microeconomics.

Follow Yicai Global on